CD  |  

Peat, Smoke & Seaweed Storm

Jukka Harju, French horn
Matilda Kärkkäinen, piano
Radion Sinfoniaorkesteri
Sakari Oramo
Dima Slobodeniuok

Listen on Spotify

Peat, Smoke & Seaweed Storm is the second album of the Finnish composer Osmo Tapio Räihälä, released in 2014. The music on the album is performed by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, and two solo performers, the French horn player Jukka Harju and the pianist Matilda Kärkkäinen. The album consists of five works, written between 1999 and 2012. The opening track on the album, Barlinnie Nine, is a “musical portrait” of the Scottish ex-football player and Everton cult hero, Duncan Ferguson. The last track, Ardbeg (The Ultimate Piece for Orchestra) is a “musical landscape” of the Inner Hebrides island Islay, and an hommage to its single malt whisky tradition, and in particular Ardbeg.

Track list

1.Barlinnie Nine11:49
2.Soliloque 2: La tornade7:41
4.Aflao Highway: No. 1, More Than Able4:59
5.Aflao Highway: No. 2, Observers Are Worried4:17
6.Aflao Highway: No. 3, Do Good in Case of Tomorrow3:38

Album info

Original Release Date: February 3, 2015
Discs: 1
Label: Alba